top of page
  • Writer's pictureTegeirian Helene

Vegan macaroni and cheese

Updated: Aug 27, 2020

Mac and cheese

The first time I tried macaroni and cheese was in the US. It was served up at a colleague’s family home. I remember eating so much that I felt a lump in my stomach; I believe it probably takes a while to digest that much cheese! I couldn’t help but diving in. It was gooey, salty and full of delightful carbs. Since becoming vegan, I have tried re-creating this iconic dish using nutritional yeast and cheese alternatives. Recipe below:


PREP: 3h COOKING TIME: 30 minutes. SERVES: 3-4


INGREDIENTS


250g of macaroni pasta

200g of raw cashew nuts

2 tbsp of nutritional yeast

1 tsp of mustard powder

Seasoning

1 cup of oat milk

1 garlic clove

2 tsp of butter

Chives

60g of vegan cheddar cheese (I used Tesco range)

Handful of bread crumbs



METHOD


Soak the cashews in boiling water for 3h. Once soaked, drain and add them to a blender along with nutritional yeast, oat milk, mustard powder and blend.

Add the pasta to a saucepan and boil it for 25minutes until soft. Then remove it from heat and drain it.


In a frying pan, add garlic and butter and fry for 2 minutes before adding grated cheese. Cook on a low heat till the cheese begins to melt and once melted, add the cashew mix and stir.


Add the cheese sauce to your pasta, stir, then serve. Garnish with grated cheese, chives, bread crumbs, and seasoning.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page